Scholarship Program

The 2024 Scholarships are closed. Check back next year!

The deadline to apply for the 2024 Utica Roadrunners Scholarship is May 31, 2024. Incomplete submissions will not be considered.

2024 Application (.docx)

2024 Application (.pdf)

Applicants should either download or print the application and send to:

By email:
By mail:
Utica Roadrunners
Scholarship Committee
PO Box 4141
Utica, NY 13504

The Utica Roadrunners have the promotion of family health and fitness through running as our primary mission. Each year, we sponsor a number of events to help raise money for collegiate scholarships for outstanding graduating student-athletes in our community. We are pleased to announce that this tradition will continue in 2024 with the Paul Ohlbaum and Howard Rubin Scholarships for outstanding male and female applicants.

Minimum qualifications the Scholarship Board will consider include the applicant’s running achievements, academic achievements, and extracurricular activities. The $500 scholarships are a one-time award to be used for tuition, fees, or residential costs at an accredited college or university. Runners who have received a full ride scholarship are not eligible for this scholarship.

All applications must be received AND COMPLETE by Friday, May 31, 2024, to be considered! Incomplete applications missing any required documents will not be considered.

No materials will be returned. Please be certain the application is completed by the applicant.



2024 Scholarship Winners

  • Kaleigh Durso - New Hartford High School
  • Logan Baker - Waterville High School
  • Kierstin Simpson - Proctor High School
  • Frank Calhoun - New York Mills High School
  • Jasmine Connor - Proctor High School

2023 Scholarship Winners

  • Ella McCarthy - Sauquoit Valley High School
  • Matthew Hanna - Sauquoit Valley High School
  • Collin Gannon - Rome Free Academy
  • Forest Martin - Poland Central School
  • Rachel Daskiewich - Oriskany Central School

2022 Scholarship Winners

  • Richard Zielenski - Holland Patent Central School
  • Elizabeth Lucason - Camden Central School District
  • Omar Mohamed - Proctor High School
  • Lexington Bernard - South Lewis Central School
  • Kayleigh Simpson - Proctor High School

2021 Scholarship Winners

  • Jade Dening - Remsen Central School
  • Maykayla Chambers - Adirondack Central High School
  • Hannah Ielfield - South Lewis Central School
  • David LaMore -  Whitesboro High School
  • Maddox Aramini - Cherry Valley-Springfield


The student-athlete must meet these standards:

  • Has been an active member of their high school’s cross country and/or track teams in grades 11 and 12. The applicant should include career bests, athletic achievements, and athletic awards received. Feel free to discuss how COVID-19 affected your team participation.
  • Has demonstrated academic excellence. The applicant should include academic awards, class rank, and possess a GPA of 2.5 or higher based on a 4.0 system.
  • Has demonstrated community involvement and leadership qualities. The applicant should specify any non-athletic activities/clubs/organizations that benefit others.
  • Has been accepted to an accredited two or four-year college.

Selection will be made based off an anonymous point scale by the Scholarship Board. The Scholarship Board will be comprised of members of the Utica Roadrunners Board.


Applications should include:

  • The completed application form, printed out or filled out electronically
  • Current copy of your high school transcript
  • Two (2) letters of recommendation from supervising adults (coach, principal, teacher, employer, religious leader).
  • One essay (500 words or less) describing your education and career goals, why running is important to you, and why you feel you are deserving of the Utica Roadrunners Scholarship Award.

Supporting documents (transcript and Letters of Recommendation) can be submitted via email to:
or by mail to:

Utica Roadrunners
Scholarship Committee
PO Box 4141
Utica, NY 13304

ALL ITEMS should be submitted to the Utica Roadrunners by May 31, 2024

Winners will be notified in June 2024 and the scholarships will be awarded on a date to be determined